Off to Greener Pastures By Liz Novak Henderson

 

Last week I was able to take some much needed time away from the office. I did pretty well on not checking my emails – I only checked a few times while I was away. During one of those times, I opened an email from Ben Freeland, our enthusiastic communications coordinator. Now, I’m not sure if it is better or not to receive bad news after a day of relaxing at the beach, but that is when the following news arrived in my inbox: Ben is leaving the MCBA for “greener pastures,” with his last day being July 12

I returned to work on Tuesday, knowing our management team would be discussing next steps on how to handle the open position and Ben’s specific job duties. At one point during the day on my way back from our workroom, I saw Robin head into Kevin’s office and close the door. Alas, this week Robin DePoint, our diligent registrar, also gave her notice, with her last day being July 18.

While we are happy for their new opportunities in their careers, we are sad for us. After all, it is all about us!

Here just a little over a year, Ben has been an energetic, creative contributor on the communications team, handling social media, eblasts, event materials and so much more! He has accepted a position doing public relations work at Trillium Health.

During her time here, Robin has been a diligent and dedicated member of our team, handling dues processing, event registrations, and pitching in when needed! She has accepted a full-time position as a Patent Prosecution Assistant at LeClairRyan. Patent work is Robin’s real love and the area in which she has the most experience.

Both Ben and Robin are “moving up,” taking a step forward in their careers. We will miss both of them and feel fortunate to have worked with them. I hope you will all extend your own congratulations to them

At least for now, we will not be replacing either Ben or Robin. Our management team is taking a close, hard look at our staffing, at what we are doing and how we might do it more efficiently and effectively, and at our needs going forward in the changing legal and association market. Stay tuned for more details.

I look forward to seeing you all soon, and hope you have a wonderful summer

Liz

P.S. And because I can’t help myself – if you haven’t renewed your dues, please do so today!

 

 

Leave a Reply

