How do MCBA members and staff unwind after work? Guest Post by Dajaneé Parrish

For many of us, the work day is filled with deadlines, phone calls and emails. After a long workday finding ways to relax and recharge is a must.

We wanted to know, what MCBA members and staff do to unwind after work. Do you prefer to socialize after work or spend a quiet night at home? Are there certain activities that you always do after an especially stressful day?

After work, I spend my time watching YouTube videos. The original content and YouTube vloggers are entertaining. It’s so easy to just click on one video and then two hours later I find myself in the YouTube black hole of cat videos.

Here’s what we found out…

For Liz Novak, MCBA Membership, Communications and Foundation Manager, starting the practice of yoga recently is how she unwinds and gets her mind off of work:

“I recently started taking yoga at my gym. Sometimes it’s in the morning, which sets me up for a great day, or sometimes it’s in the evening, which helps to brush off the day’s work. A friend of mine convinced me to take a class. It’s completely out of my comfort zone, but because you have to focus on each of the moves, it allows me to be present instead of focusing on what I have to do later in the day or tomorrow, etc.”

For Steve Modica, MCBA President, unwinding with family is the best medicine. “I enjoy spending time with my bride of 28 years, playing golf, walking my dogs and watching sports (especially professional baseball and hockey).”

For Amanda Dwyer, Chair, Lawyers for Learning Committee, spending time in nature with her family gets her mind off of work.” In my down time I like to spend time with friends and family, especially my husband and two-year old son. We often enjoy walks in some of Monroe County’s amazing parks. Lately I have become something of a bird watcher. I like to spot different kinds in my yard and out in the wild.”

For Neil Rowe, MCBA President-Elect, getting in some cardio and enjoying the company of fellow MCBA members is all he needs to unwind.

“I used to compete in bicycle racing, but now limit myself to invigorating rides of 30 or so miles 3 or 4 days a week.  On the alternating days I swim about 1/2 mile and otherwise enjoy my pool and backyard.  As we get to the colder seasons, I switch to the indoor gym and pool at the Webster Y.  With my retirement from government service, my teaching schedule with Keuka College should allow more time to travel, particularly to historic sights; but for the time being I am relaxing with my fellow MCBA members at a plethora of bar sponsored activities and events.”

For Ginny LaCour, MCBA Executive Assistant, faith and a little bit of Downton Abbey help her relax.

“Well – as far as taking care of myself – Church is very important to me. Spending time with my family is most valuable.  I love to read, watch HGTV, and yes, “Downton Abbey” and other similar PBS programs.  I live near the lake, so I enjoy walking on the pier at Charlotte and of course, Abbott’s!  And if I could, I would travel, travel, travel!”

Tell us what you like to do to unwind after work.

Leave a Reply

