Learning the technology…it never stops!

IMG_6150[1]
I am preparing to present to the House Finance Committee, and then to the Board of Trustees, some projections as we prepare for the 2013-14 budget. I have some pretty extensive reports that I want to translate to a variety of charts because I do believe it is easier to communicate those projections in the form of a chart vs. a spreadsheet.

In addition, I am working on a presentation for an upcoming ABA Meeting at the Annual Bar Leadership Institute Conference in Chicago. I will be there in mid-March, along with MCBA President-Elect Diane Cecero, when we attend “bar presidents school.” I am one of two presenters at a session for the new presidents titled, “Ensuring Your Bar’s Financial Future”. I am planning to use several of the same data charts at that program as well that will demonstrate the historical trends of this association with regard to membership, CLE participation, and other measurable benchmarks. I am tracking a variety of demographics including age, gender, and practice areas.

So recently I sat down to look at a blank Excel sheet, and to take the data, build the spreadsheet, then hit the magical keys to spit out the beautiful charts. Only problem is — I have not done one of these in a while, and my technique was off. So I determined that my Excel skills were a bit rusty, and a refresher course was in order.

So today, in between a few meetings here, and one at the Hall of Justice, I am taking advantage of one of our MCBA Member Benefits at Lynda.com. Lynda.com is a website rich with training opportunities on everything from Excel to PowerPoint to Word to Outlook to how to build a blog, and the list goes on. Lynda.com is a free to members, and I have to tell you — I am really impressed!! It is easy to follow, and convenient.

Deal is, you need to come to the bar to take one of the free programs since it must be taken on a dedicated computer at the MCBA. So when you have an hour or two, call ahead, reserve the computer, come to learn, and enjoy the free coffee or soda that goes along with it.

In this age of technology, the learning NEVER stops. And if the MCBA and Lynda.com can play a role in keeping you ahead of the curve, then I believe we have made a small contribution.

I promise that when I complete the course, I will publish one of my very impressive charts. Watch for next week’s blog and let me know what you think. If you are interested in signing up to try one of the hundreds of online classes, contact Dajaneé Parrish at dparrish@mcba.org at 585-402-7198.

Meanwhile, thanks for checking in…

Mary

Leave a Reply

